The Daily Smoothie

If you are my friend and you read this blog, then you know Aaron and I are very proud Vitamix owners.  If you haven’t heard of these, then perhaps you are not as addicted to Costco (samples) as we are.  We always most looked forward to Costco trips when the Vitamix salesmen were there and always lingered long enough to taste the soup, the smoothie, and the sorbet.  Aaron would always dream about getting one, but could never bring himself to swallow the $400 price tag for a blender.

But last year on his birthday my whole family very generously went in together and got it for him, and let me tell you it’s true what they say at Costco…we wonder how we ever lived without it!!  We have probably used it every single day in that almost a year that it’s been since we got it.  Since people have been asking about our smoothie favorites, I thought I’d share a few here.

My All Time Favorite:

1.5 frozen bananas*
1 scoop chocolate protein powder
3/4 cup soymilk**
(also delicious with 1 TBSP peanut butter added, of course!)

Simple Variations:

1 frozen banana
5 frozen strawberries or 3/4 cup blueberries
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
3/4 cup soy milk

Aaron’s Special:

.75 frozen banana
.5 fuji apple
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1 TBSP almond butter
3/4 cup soymilk

Tribute to my Favorite Juice:

.75 frozen banana
.5 naval orange
.5 cup pineapple
small container vanilla Greek yogurt***
If you have a high-powered blender, like the Vitamix, please feel free to add a handful of spinach or baby carrots or both to any smoothie above for a nutrient boost without dramatically altering the taste.

*As mentioned in a previous post, we keep a lot of bananas on hand.  When they get a good shade of brown that makes them nice and sweet, I peel them and freeze them.  Then your smoothie will have a thick milkshake consistency without needing to use any added sugar…my secret to delicious healthy smoothies.  If you hate bananas, then you’re on your own!

**I prefer Unsweetened Silk Soymilk due to my lactose semi-tolerance and my unappreciation for added sugar in unnecessary places, but you can use any kind of milk you prefer.  I do think the soymilk gives it a creamier, less frothy texture than milk, but that’s totally my opinion!

***I’m sure I’m not the only one to notice the influx of Greek Yogurt to the dairy aisle, but be careful to read the labels…they are not all created equal!!  After a lot of reading and tasting, I was surprised to have a preference for the Fred Meyer store brand, which is great because it’s also the cheapest!  It’s vanilla flavor only has 3 more grams of sugar per serving than its plain variety, compared to some which have upwards of 20 grams more!!!  May as well have a cookie.

What are your favorite smoothies to whip up at home?

2 thoughts on “The Daily Smoothie

  1. ya i have a hard time with the banana…i have to find alternate ways to sweeten smoothies. For some reason post emmitt birth i can hard gag one down. i know vanilla, honey, or agave nectar are options, but I still have yet to find a good recipe with these i like…should you find any other options fill me in!

  2. Well this doesn’t answer your sweetener question, but a good way to give it the milkshake consistency without the banana is to stick 1/4 of an avocado in there. I know it seems weird, but you’ll love it!

Leave a Reply

