Marshmallows for Every Meal: And other Healthier Foods for Kids

 

My friend asked me the other day what my kids usually ate for lunch.  I thought it was a great topic of discussion for the blog because all of us moms probably struggle with getting our kids to eat healthy.  We make our kids eat whatever we are having for dinner, but no matter how much they liked or disliked it, they will NEVER eat the leftovers for lunch the next day!

March 2012 240

 

 

Of course they would eat macaroni, quesadillas, chicken nuggets (and marshmallows, cookies, ice cream) at every meal if I left them, but that’s not really the ideal! So I thought I would compile a list of some of the things they do eat for lunch or snacks and hopefully there will be some good ideas for you.  And please share your own ideas in the comment section with everyone so we can have even more options.

  1. Apples and peanut butter or almond butter
  2. Applesauce or pears and cottage cheese
  3. Grapes and string cheese
  4. Smoothies
  5. Carrots or Cucumbers with Greek Yogurt ranch or Hummus
  6. Trail Mix made from The Unsalted Nut Mix at Costco, Cheerios, and Raisins
  7. Hard-Boiled Eggs and Cuties
  8. Whole Grain Breakfast Breads/Muffins with Yogurt or Hard-Boiled Eggs

WalnutBlueberryBananaBread_article

There are also some surprising things my kids love that may be less typical

  1. Grilled Chicken or Salmon with Homemade Sweet Potato Fries
  2. Shrimp cooked any which way imaginable
  3. Edamame, shelled and unshelled
  4. Raw Red Peppers
  5. Tofu!!  As long as the sauce is not too spicy
  6. Salad (well that is Adelyn, not Barett)
  7. Plain Rice Cakes! Sometimes with Peanut Butter, Almond Butter, or Hummus

strawberry-banana-almond-butter-smoothie-recipe-fw0311-lg

As I compiled this list, I realize it is short on veggies and substance.  My kids eat a big meal (usually oatmeai with cottage cheese, eggs and waffles/english muffins, or protein pancakes) in the morning and then graze throughout the day.  So if any of you have any more substantial lunch ideas, I would really love to hear them too!

2 thoughts on “Marshmallows for Every Meal: And other Healthier Foods for Kids

  1. I have a kids who would eat Ramen for every meal if I let him. He just loves it- but it’s so NOT what I want him to eat. I made a deal with him. He can have a bowl of ramen if he lets me add a big handful of frozen mixed veggies, some little shrimp or chicken chunks, and only use half the seasoning packet- and he only gets it 3 times a week max. Pretty much I let my kids eat some of the regular junky stuff sometimes (ramen, mac’n’cheese, fish sticks, etc) – as long as they eat plenty of vegetables and fruit. Broccoli and cheese are a favorite, as well as raw veggies with a dip,& spaghetti with lots of veggies cooked in the sauce. Great ideas, thanks Becca!

Leave a Reply

