Better than ?? Cake

This dessert has many names.  A walnut shortbread crust. Creamy layers of cream cheese, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.  In my house growing up, we called it “Chocolate Wonderful.”  I know, doesn’t it just sound like something that will make your day better??  I decided to try a somewhat healthier take on it to take as my dessert contribution for family dinner while we are trying to eat healthier.  I can’t say that anyone liked it better than the original, but it was all gone by the time we got home!

Crust

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup walnuts
1 cup softened butter

Give those a whirl in the food processor until combined and bake in a 9 x 13 pan at 350 for 15 – 20 minutes.  Let cool.  Then this is where we get a little crazy.  Instead of pudding, I made this recipe from Averie Cooks for the next layer!  Except I doubled it for extra goodness.  I know what you are going to say…Avocados??  In mousse??  What the heck?  I promise you it is so good and you can’t taste the avocados.  They just add all their healthy fat into the mix to make it rich and creamy without actual cream.

September 2013 053.

Raw Vegan Chocolate Mousse

Combine in Vita-Mix or Food Processor until smooth
2 ripe avocados
1/2 c agave
1/4 c cocoa powder
Dash Vanilla Extract

September 2013 054

Then I finally tried my hand at coconut cream.  Have you been salivating over the pictures on pinterest like I have?  Have you tried it yet?  Basically you take a can of full-fat coconut cream and put it in the fridge overnight.  Then you take the solids from the can and whip them as you would whipping cream!  Add a bit of sweetener and vanilla and it was so yummy!  The best explanation on how to do it is at Oh She Glows.

Crème_Chantilly

I wish I had seen that before I attempted mine, because one of my cans failed and my whipped cream layer was far too skimpy.  Yes, get two if you are going to try this.  Guess I forgot to take a picture of the final product, but to make it pretty I took a chunk of my Trader Joe’s 72% Dark Chocolate Bar and made shavings to top it off.

Guess that gives me an excuse to make it again soon!

Leave a Reply

